Reviews

What readers are saying about G. M. Barlean’s books:

Ms. Barlean gifts us with a small town mystery inclusive of the most wonderful gossip, twists and red herrings. In Gloria Larson’s quest to solve a murder, and find out which of the suspects might be her birth mother, she introduces us to four senior citizens in an assisted living facility who spin a tale like nobody’s business. With a welcome smooth writing style, Ms. Barlean keeps us eager as the scenes slide into our mind’s eye and carry us one page after another. This story is nicely told with a subtle and talented voice.
C. Hope Clark
Editor, FundsforWriters, fundsforwriters.com
Writers Digest 101 Best Websites for Writers
-and-
Author, The Carolina Slade Mystery Series
Lowcountry Bribe, Feb 2012
Tidewater Murder, April 2013
Palmetto Poison, Feb 2014
chopeclark.com
“This is one mystery that caught me completely by surprise, in more than one way! The characters made me laugh, and made me cry. I loved the story, and the ending couldn’t have been more perfect, or more satisfying.”
 
–Victorine Lieske, NYT best-selling author of Not What She Seems

“Each time I had to shut down my kindle between chapters of Thorns of Rosewood, I couldn’t wait to get back to the cast of characters and twists that G.M. Barlean created.
 
That is what I’d call a successful cozy mystery.”
 
–Kay Bratt, best-selling author of The Tales of the Scavenger’s Daughters
final cover5.0 out of 5 stars On the edge of my seat February 17, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Having read Casting Stones by Gina, I was prepared for a dark and suspenseful story which tugged at my nerves and made my breath shorten. True to Barlean’s writing style, Dead Blow did not disappoint.

From the outset of Elaine’s story, tension gripped me and did not let go. I found myself flipping through the pages as fast as my e-reader would permit trying to ease my fears by finding out what happened next. It was not so easy. Barlean kept me totally involved in the story because as soon as I thought I knew what was going to happen, wham, she threw a curve that knocked the legs out from under my tidy predictions.

I have to say my favorite characters were Sheriff Dewy Truet and his deputy Bart Redly. They are reminiscent of Mayberry’s Andy Taylor and Barney Fife, except the 21st century and all its ugliness have crept into what appears idyllic small town Nebraska.

This is not a novel that inspires sweet dreams, but if gut-gripping strain is your genre, this is just the novel for you.

5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, April 8, 2013
This review is from: Dead Blow (Kindle Edition)
Great suspense, lots of twists and turns. The human mind can be a very dark, scary place when it breaks. Great writing, Mrs. Barlean,wished it had been longer, but I don’t know if I could have handled any more? So it was just right. Keep it up!
Recipes for Revenge 2

5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and clever, January 6, 2013
By
Michael Chiller (Melbourne, Australia) – See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Recipes For Revenge, A Four-Course Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book is really entertaining and clever. I would recommend this book to anyone with a sense of humour. It is very well written and the story flows as you would expect, without being predictable. Well done.
A great book by a great author, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This is the first book I’ve read by G.M. Barlean, and I will definitely read more. In this novel, she creates four female characters you can’t help but root for, while at the same time rooting against the male characters who end up getting exactly what they deserve. You get to know the characters on a very personal level. The stories are fast-paced, and leave you thirsting for more. Now I will read her Casting Stones works, and can’t wait for her new book due out before the end of the year.
cross cover

Format:Kindle Edition
Wow. This is one of those compelling books that kept me up all night to read it, and when it was over, all I could was think, “Wow. That was one of the most emotionally charged books I’ve ever read.” After reading Prelude – Casting Stones, I was eager to find out what happened to James Raven and Esther. James chose to marry someone else, leaving Esther heartbroken. After his wife dies, he returns, and Esther believes this is her second chance.

It’s hard to say what happens in this book without spoiling it, and I don’t want to put up any spoilers. So I’ll try to sum it up without ruining the plot. I’ll say right away it was not predictable at all. I thought the characters would end up going one way, but they went another. That’s what compelled me to keep reading, and in the end, it’s what made me say, “Wow. What a great book!”

This isn’t a warm and fuzzy book. Esther does get her wish. She gets to marry James and she has his child, but life doesn’t turn out as she hoped. There are hard issues addressed here. For one, we take a look at the power of resentment as it builds up over time. What starts as a selfish act didn’t lead either character in the direction they wanted to ultimately be in. It’s hard not to think of this book without tearing up. The issues mentioned in relation to human emotions are so authentic you can’t help but sympathize for even the unlikable characters in the book. Nothing is black and white. With this book, it’s all shades of gray.

I look forward to the next book this author writes, and I w
ill understand next time that I can’t predict what will happen and probably find myself reading late at night while I try not to cry.
COVER

5.0 out of 5 stars Must-Have Book for Writers July 4, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
If you are looking to publish your writing, whether via traditional publishers or self-publishing, I highly recommend reading this informative discussion of writing teams. This concise book helps the reader understand the different purposes of writing groups and how writers can not only benefit from these groups, but also contribute to them in meaningful ways. Yet this book gives more than just advice on writing teams. Ms. Barlean also offers some tips and tricks for self-editing your work and working with other professionals, including editors and book cover designers. Her writing style is engaging and down-to-earth. She offers real-life examples while discussing the art of building a writing team and includes brief end-of-chapter summaries that drive home the main points. Even if you already have a writing team, this book can help make sure you’re getting (and giving) the most for your efforts.